How do I make something wait a certain amount of time before executing?

I am relatively new to Gamemaker, and I am having a problem that I can't figure out how to fix... Although I am sure the solution is very simple. So, what I have as of now is a player, (obj_player_ship), and when that player collides with obj_bullet_powerup, obj_player_ship is replaced with obj_rapid_fire. Which is basically the player ship but it fires super quickly. So, I want, after about say, 10 seconds, obj_rapid_fire to be replaced by obj_player_ship. But I can't figure out how to make it wait a certain amount of time. Anyways, I know how to use Alarms (sort of), and I'm sure I need to use one of them to do this, but I don't know what code I need to use. Here is the code I have so far to do all of this (this is a collision event BTW):
1.png
That isn't really much, but it's all there is as of now. I assume I need to make an alarm in obj_rapid_fire, then do something in the step event to make the alarm go off and destroy obj_rapid_fire, and create obj_player_ship where it was. But I don't know exactly what code I need to put to do that. I did make it at one point wait a split second and then do it, but when I tried making the number higher to make it wait longer, it just never changed back.

MVPBiggles

Here's the manual page for alarms.

Alarms go down every step, so they'll go off on their own, at which point they will trigger the code in the alarm's respective event.

I don't know why changing the number of the alarm didn't change anything, because I can't see the code that updated the alarm. However, if you update the alarm in an event that occurs every frame, like the step event, then the alarm will never go down, because you'll be resetting it every frame.

nicolask

Check the manual page for alarms